International Carnivorous Plant Society

An account of Drosera section Prolifera

Drosera schizandra

Drosera schizandra on the lower slopes of Mount Bartle Frere, Queensland’s highest mountain. Photo by Greg Bourke.


There are 4 species in the Drosera section Prolifera. Drosera adelae, Drosera prolifera, and Drosera schizandra are commonly known as "The Three Sisters". Recently a fourth "sister" was discovered and it was named Drosera buubugujin. These species are endemic to far north Queensland. They are unique to the genus in that they are found growing exclusively in rainforest habitat.

Read the full article PDF on the 3 sisters
Read the full new species article PDF with the 4th sister

Species covered in the 3 sisters article:

Drosera adelae
Drosera prolifera
Drosera schizandra

Species covered in the new species article:

Drosera buubugujin

Richard Nunn and Greg Bourke. 2017. An account of Drosera section Prolifera. Carniv. Pl. Newslett. 46(3):92-100.

Thilo Alexander Krueger. 2022. New Australian Drosera taxa published since Allen Lowrie’s Magnum Opus. Carniv. Pl. Newslett. 51(1):41-47.

Page created July 2022


CPN Volume 1 Number 1

Drosera schizandra on the bank of a disused logging trail, Mount Bartle Frere, North Queensland. Photo by Greg Bourke.